Player news

Greensnet Editor
Wed 17 May 2006, 14:00

Gary McCann has also given out today the list of players who are staying and leaving. As well as Iain Duncan, four other players are definitely leaving the club. Blaise O'Brien has decided to move on and is expected to return to Hillingdon Borough, Charlie Mapes has returned to Yeading following the expiration of his loan period, while Jeff Campbell is returning to New Zealand where he is likely to be playing professionally.

Also departing is goalkeeper Rikki Banks who has a number of trials lined up during the summer, but also has a possibility of signing for Worthing, which is much nearer his Brighton home. We thank all the departing players for their efforts and wish them well for their futures.

Eleven players who appeared for the first team last season have committed themselves to the cause. Ricci Crace will be taking over the team captaincy, whilst also staying are Danny Murphy, Danny Edwards, James Parker, Adilson Lopes, Jimmy Froud, Lee O'Leary, Jamie Busby, Dave Hunt, Bradley Bubb and James Burgess. Also remaining at the club are reserve teamers Ricky Pattenden, Chad Griffiths, Conor Carroll, Francois Gabbidon, Mathew Peart and Maradona Mason.

A number of players have yet to make a decision on their playing future and are considering the offers made to them. These players include Dave King, Mark Cooper, Marc Leach, Andy Cook, Ross Pickett, Rene Street and Byron Bubb.

Gary confirmed that he is working to a much tighter budget than last season but his aim is to build a young, committed, energetic and physically strong side.